Showing posts with label quarry. Show all posts
Showing posts with label quarry. Show all posts

Thursday, 11 May 2017

Ulpha Slate mines

We knew there were some old slate mine workings near our cottage, so on thursday we went for a walk in the woods near our cottage to explore these disused slate mines. I believe this one was called Common Wood Slate Mine, Ulpha.There is a group of these old quarries north of Ulpha. They may have been worked from the 17th century until about 1925.



The road up to the quarries is built of slabs of slate on edge set into clay. As you climb the road(!!) you can see there was a stream running down it - probable in the wet weather.
The path/road was lined by carpets of Wild garlic and on the descent, by bluebells as well.
At the top of the track, the first thing you see is the ruins of the manager's house where William Casson moved in after his marriage in 1896. It may have been an early barn conversion. William Casson managed the quarries for the Ulpha Slate Company and the Ulpha Green Slate Company and finally on his own behalf as a slate dealer after the quarries were worked out.



It is a strange sensation standing on the top of the abandoned slag heaps amongst the wood which have grown up since the mines were abandoned. It was well worth the walk amongst the ruins in the beautiful woods, which are now an area of special scientific interest.


View of surrounding countryside from the top


Note the old gate post with holes drilled into the block.


There are some entrances to the old quarry for underground workings, one called Chaddock's level, a tunnel with two blind branches. It is dry, whereas others we looked in were very wet and muddy!. 
A walk back to the cottage for a coffee, cake and dinner (and rest) before taking a short drive for some photos along the River Duddon through the Duddon Valley, with Stickle Pike as a backdrop.


The view toward Stickle Pike from near our cottage



The river Duddon near to Ulpha Bridge and the bridge itself.



Some other views from nearby on the banks of the river Duddon.


Farm building and tree. Would have looked better in the evening light!

Home    Forward     Back

Saturday, 19 September 2015

Anglesey Abbey

Anglesey Abbey is a great place to visit and is very family orientated as well. A community of Augustinian canons built a priory here, known as Anglesea or Anglesey Priory, some time during the reign of Henry I (i.e., between 1100 and 1135), and acquired extra land from the nearby village of Bottisham in 1279. The canons were expelled in 1535 during the Dissolution of the Monasteries.
The former priory was acquired around 1600 by Thomas Hobson, who converted it to a country house for his son-in-law, Thomas Parker, retaining a few arches from the original priory. At that time the building's name was changed to "Anglesey Abbey", which sounded grander than the original "Anglesey Priory". Further alterations to the building were carried out in 1861.


Now it is a beautiful garden to visit, owned by the National Trust, and well worth spending the day here. 



Heading toward the winter garden first, we encounter thes beautiful `touchable` trees You just have to!. 



As this is September, the trees, and indeed the whole garden, is showing signs of the autumnal season.


Silver Birches in the winter garden section. 


There are lots of trees around the site, in avenues (below) and in individual areas (above) 



Autumn colours along this avenue. To commemorate the coronation of King George VI and Queen Elizabeth in 1937, Lord Fairhaven planted this extensive avenue of trees with a crossing avenue at the far end. The trees used were London plane alternating with horse chestnut in four rows, copying those planted in Windsor Great Park 


A large pool, the Quarry Pool, is believed to be the site of a 19th-century coprolite mine 


A watermill probably stood on the site of Lode Mill at the time of the Domesday survey in 1086. The Mill which stands today is likely to have been built in the eighteenth century. 
In 1793 the mill was described in a sale notice as 'Anglesea Watermill with dwelling house, yard, garden, barn, stables and outhouse and 3 acres of pasture adjoining'. Old photographs show the house next to the mill. The house was taken down in the renovation of the 1930s. 
In about 1900 the mill was converted from corn grinding to cement grinding. The cement was generally made by firing a mixture of clay and lime or natural chalk at about 400°C and grinding the resulting clinker into a powder. 
An engine may have been installed at this time, as inside the mill today there are some shafts, gears and a chain drive that are unusual in a watermill. 
The mill was owned by the Bottisham Lode Cement and Brick Company. Bottisham Lode is the stretch of water below the mill, one of a number of lodes that were used as a transport link to the River Cam. The water above the mill is called Quy Water. 
Unfortunately, the Bottisham Lode Cement and Brick Company was a victim of competition and the business had closed down by about 1920, leaving the mill to become derelict. 



The extensive landscaped gardens are popular with visitors throughout the year. The most visited areas include the rose garden and the dahlia garden, which contain many dozens of varieties. Out of season the spring garden and winter dell are famed nationally, particularly in February when the snowdrops first appear. The lawns of the South Park are mown less frequently and this allows the many wildflowers to flower and set seed. Over 50 species of wildflower have been recorded, including bee orchid, pyramidal orchid and common spotted orchid. In mid-summer, there are large numbers of butterflies such as meadow brown, gatekeeper, small skippers and marbled whites. 





Seen in the great dahlia garden, some beautiful displays - this suspended display really effective as you approached. 


The Circular Temple, Anglesey Abbey 




A touch of autumn. 


In the rose garden 




There is a lot to see at any time of year, masses of snowdrops in late winter but when we visited, cyclamen were putting on a great display as well as the dahlia. With a great place to get food, its a must see at least once. 

Home    Forward   Back